

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

December 13, 2022

## **Arkansas Energy Disruption Preparedness Tool Kit Released**

**NORTH LITTLE ROCK**—The Arkansas Energy Resource Council (ERC) debuted the Arkansas Energy Disruption Preparedness Tool Kit at its October 20, 2022 meeting. The Tool Kit serves as a clearinghouse for information on best practices regarding preparedness and communication in advance of and during events that may disrupt the supply of critical energy resources. The Tool Kit is housed on the Arkansas Department of Energy & Environment's (E&E) website.

The Tool Kit delivers on the lessons learned through Energy Resources Planning Task Force hearings held following Winter Storm Uri in 2021 in accordance with Executive Order 21-21 issued by Governor Asa Hutchinson. The Tool Kit contains three sections focused on energy disruption preparedness for each of the following categories: residential energy customers, business and industrial customers, and energy providers.

"The Tool Kit serves as an informational hub providing awareness and access to the many excellent resources provided by the ERC member organizations and government resources," said ERC Chair and E&E Cabinet Secretary Becky W. Keogh. It is a living webpage that staff intends to keep updated as Council members and the public share additional tools and documents to our staff."

The Tool Kit is available at https://ee.arkansas.gov/energy/erc-toolkit/. If you have questions or feedback for the Tool Kit, please email <a href="mailto:erc@arkansas.gov">erc@arkansas.gov</a>.

The ERC is composed of the following individuals or their designee: the Secretary of the Department of Energy and Environment, who serves as Chair of the Committee; the Secretary of the Department of Commerce; the Chairman of the Arkansas Public Service Commission; the Arkansas Attorney General; the Director of the Arkansas Division of Emergency Management; the President and Chief Executive Officer of Entergy; the President of Empire District Electric Company; the President and Chief Executive Officer of Electric Cooperative Corporation of Arkansas; the President and Chief Executive Officer of Oklahoma Gas and Electric; the President and Chief Operating Officer of Southwestern Electric Power Company; the President and Chief Executive Officer of Black Hills Corporation; the President and Chief Executive Officer of Summit Utilities; the Director of the Arkansas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners; the Director of the Arkansas Propane Gas Association; the Chief Executive Officer of Midcontinent Independent System Operator, Inc.; the President and Chief Executive Officer of Southwest Power Pool, Inc.; the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Arkansas Municipal Power Association; the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce; the President of the Arkansas Forest and Paper Council; a representative of Arkansas Gas Consumers, Inc.; and a representative of Arkansas Electric Energy Consumers, Inc.

**CONTACT:** EE-Press@adeq.state.ar.us